Unable to find the requested .Net Framework Data Provider


I have faced very complex problem when i am using Mysql Datasource in SQLDatasource. It give reference error like “Unable to find the requested .Net Framework Data Provider” in the time of hosting the site in remote server where Mysql Data connector is not install. After spending long time in the web, i get the solution of this problem. This give me relax at last.

Cause: I have used SQLDatasource to populated a grid to retrieve data from the internet. here i select mysql as data source.

Here is SQLDatasource Setting,

Here is my connection String

This configuration work well in local machine. But when i upload this site for hosting in remote server, this encounter an error which says that the mysql provider name is not found.

Solution:
I have added some extra configuration in my web.config file.

Again it is noted that all above change is applicable only to the application “web.config” file in the host server. If host server already installs mysql data connector, then there is no change required. I am using Mysql Data Connector Version 5.1. For Upper version i will be required some minor change in the Control assembly ID number.

Here i give the snap shoot and download link  of “web.config” file of my well working site,

Download

Please make comment if this post do any help to you.

Thanks
Khayer
GIS Programmer, CEGIS
Bangladesh

References:
http://forums.asp.net/p/1253461/2323702.aspx
http://forums.mysql.com/read.php?38,145720,145760#msg-145760

32 thoughts on “Unable to find the requested .Net Framework Data Provider

  1. Thank you so much! This worked out perfectly! For those using IXWebHosting, remember to go to Account Settings > Dedicated Application Pool and set up your domain there too.

    Best!!

  2. Dear Khayer

    Greetings from England and thank you very much for posting your solution. On my host web.config I have only added the tag so far, it worked without adding the tags at this stage. It may be that they are already included in a “global” setting somewhere.

  3. Dear Khayer

    I should not have used angle braces in my last post! It should have read “On my host web.config I have only added the [DbProviderFactories] tag so far, it worked without adding the [add namespace] tags at this stage. It may be that they are already included in a “global” setting somewhere.” Sorry about that.

  4. hi,
    first, thanks to you for your help, but my application couldn’t work on the local machine, my problem related with local, i carry out your methodology but i get an error like this:
    System.ArgumentException: Unable to find the requested .Net Framework Data Provider. It may not be installed.
    Please help me!

  5. this is my web.config

    <!–
    The section enables configuration
    of the security authentication mode used by
    ASP.NET to identify an incoming user.
    –>

    <!–
    The section enables configuration
    of what to do if/when an unhandled error occurs
    during the execution of a request. Specifically,
    it enables developers to configure html error pages
    to be displayed in place of a error stack trace.

    –>

    here after executing this i am getting an error

    Required attribute ‘invariant’ not found.

    what i have to do?

    please any one suggest me

  6. hello sir,
    same problem i m getting in windows Application… not in Web Application so please tell me how can solve my problem in C#…..

  7. hello sir,
    Same problem i m getting in Windows Application not in Web Application so i you have any idea how can solve it then please reply me ASAP…

  8. @Naim Khan
    In window version this problem should not been happen. So please check your connection setting carefully and try used updated driver from MySql data.

  9. Thanks thanks and many many thanks….
    You have solved my problem. Keep up the good work.

    Thanks once again.

  10. Hi there, You have done an incredible job. I
    will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I am sure they will be benefited from this site.

  11. Fantastic beat ! I would like to apprentice while you
    amend your web site, how can i subscribe for
    a blog site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright
    clear concept

  12. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  13. You are so awesome! I do not believe I’ve truly read anything like that before. So wonderful to find somebody with original thoughts on this topic. Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This site is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with a bit of originality!

  14. By using Sociable, you’ll entice your readers to submit your blog entries to Digg as well as to other similar web services. Secondly it truly is entirely absolutely free to make use of. Go to – – and enter in one of your main keywords related to your niche.

  15. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to
    be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or tips.
    Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read more things about it!

  16. Hey man, this post is from 2008 and it’s still helpful. After many hours with this problem, finally I found this post and solved my problem. Thanks a lot.

  17. After checking out a few of the blog articles on your site,I seriously like your technique of writing a blog.

    I savedd as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and will bee checking back soon.
    Take a look aat my web site too and tell me what you think.

  18. you’re iіn гeality a exceⅼlent webmaster. Thhe web site loadіng speed is amazing.

    It seems thаt you’re doing any distinctive tricк. Aⅼso, The contents are masterpiece.
    you’ve performed a great process on this matter!

Leave a Reply

